DARC

 

home
about me
the radio station
the antennas
the qth
Video Monitor
contest results
3V8CB activity
W6 activity
CT3 activity
EA8 activity
CN2AW activity
D44TZN activity
Hallig Hooge EU-042
A47RS Oman
Local Club
(only in German)

photo album
RBN statistics
log search

useful links

 

| qsl info | Email | guestbook | home |  

                 EA8, Gran Canaria Holiday- DX- Pedition 2007

              IOTA: AF-004                              WAG Contest

el porche 
el porche, the QTH of Bill EA8AZC and his XYL Brigitte in Palmital de Telde

above you see the 2000 square meter stately home El Porche from Bill, EA8AZC and his XYL Brigitte. El Porche means patio or porch and indeed behind the entry you reach the porch decorated with terrifically flowers and plants. Thanks Brigitte! The property is walled and is situated on the top of a hill 450 m above the sea level west of Telde (northwest of the airport). El Porche offers everything a HAM is enthusiastic about: cordial hospitality, free view to DL, antennas, a separate guest house, a separate shack and last but not least an indoor swimming pool with a terrace and view to the south. You can reach quickly each corner of the island with a rental car. Excellent conditions for holidays with ham radio activities which inspired my XYL Monika too!


dinner with friends 

Above you see Brigitte, Bill, Monika and me at dinner with some very good wine. We will treasure the taste of the home made special delicacies, the tasty wine and the interesting stories from Brigitte and Bill!


5 el LP & Spiderbeam  

Here you see the available beams. A Spiderbeam and a 5 el LogPeriodic 15m above the ground level.The latter one was used during the WAG contest. I could work DL on 10m during a short opening although the sun spots were at a minimum level. Additionally there was a Barker & Williamson Wide Band Dipole available. This commercial dipole was only useable on 40m and I could not make any QSO on 80m unfortunately because of a faulty wire connection.



contest time
 

At long last! WAG contest 2007 from EA8
RIG: Kenwood TS 570D and Icom IC706 with 100 Watts (Collins PA operation is only allowed for Bill ;-) - result: 350 QSOs and 85050 points. Placed first in EA8!

and as you can see I enjoyed all the fun! The dreamteam Bill and I became friends and let me say thank you to my XYL Monika who active supported me. We spent a unforgettable holiday on Gran Canaria!

contest fever Bill, EA8AZC & Achim, DL1DAW


 
   

   © 2007 by DL1DAW •  dl1daw@darc.de

DARC

 

Anfang
über mich
die Funkstation
die Antennen
qth / Standort
Video Monitor
Contestergebnisse
3V8CB Urlaub
W6 Urlaub
CT3 Urlaub
EA8 Urlaub
CN2AW Urlaub
D44TZN Urlaub
Hallig Hooge EU-042
A47RS Oman
IOTA St.Mary's EU-011
OV Bergkamen
Fotoalbum
(nur in englisch)

RBN Statistik
Logbuchsuche

nützliche Links
(nur in englisch)

 

| qsl info | Email | Gästebuch | Anfang |  

                 EA8, Gran Canaria Urlaubs- DX- Pedition 2007

              IOTA: AF-004                              WAG Contest

el porche 
el porche, das QTH von Bill EA8AZC und seiner XYL Brigitte in Palmital de Telde

Oben sieht man das 2000 qm Anwesen El Porche von Bill, EA8AZC und seiner XYL Brigitte. El Porche bedeutet Veranda und in der Tat gelangt man nach Eintritt in eine wunderbar mit Blumen und Pflanzen ausgeschmückte Vorhalle. Brigitte sei Dank! Das Anwesen selbst ist ummauert und liegt auf einem 450 m hohen Hügelrücken westlich von Telde (nordwestl. vom Flughafen). El Porche bietet alles was das Funkerherz begeistert: herzliche Gastfreund- schaft, einen freien Blick nach DL, Antennnen, ein separates Gästehaus, ein separates Shack und nicht zuletzt ein überdachter Swimmingpool mit Terrasse und Blick nach Süden. Mit einem Mietauto kann man alle Winkel der Insel schnell erreichen. Also, ideale Voraussetzungen für einen Funkurlaub, der auch meine XYL Monika begeisterte!


Weinabend mit Freunden 

Hier hatten Brigitte und Bill uns zu einem gemütlichen Abendessen mit Weinabend ein- geladen. Die hausgemachten Köstlichkeiten, der leckere Wein und vor allen Dingen die interessanten Gespräche mit Brigitte und Bill werden uns immer in Erinnerung bleiben!


5 el LP & Spiderbeam  

Hier sieht man die zur Verfügung stehenden Beams. Einen Spiderbeam und eine 5 el LogPeriodic in ca. 15m Höhe, die ich während des WAG Contests benutzte. So konnte ich sogar im Sonnenfleckenminimum während einer kurzen Öffnung auf 10m DLs arbeiten. Dann war doch noch ein Barker & Williamson Wide Band Dipole, der aber nur auf 40m brauchbare Signale lieferte und so kam auf 80 m leider kein QSO zustande.



Endlich Contest
 

Endlich! WAG Contest 2007 aus EA8
RIG: Kenwood TS 570D und Icom IC706 mit je 100 Watt (die Aktivierung der Collins Line ist nur Bill vorbehalten ;-) - Ergebnis: 350 QSOs und 85050 Punkte. 1.Platz in EA8!

Wie man sieht, hat es mir ersichtlichen Spaß bereitet! The dreamteam Bill und ich schlossen Freundschaft und lieben Dank an meine XYL Monika, die mich tatkräftig unterstützte und mit der ich einen unvergesslichen Urlaub auf Gran Canaria erlebte!

im Contestfieber Bill, EA8AZC & Achim, DL1DAW


 
   

   © 2007 by DL1DAW •  dl1daw@darc.de