DARC

 

home
about me
the radio station
the antennas
the qth
Video Monitor
contest results
3V8CB activity
W6 activity
CT3 activity
EA8 activity
CN2AW activity
D44TZN activity
Hallig Hooge EU-042
A47RS Oman
Local Club
(only in German)

photo album
RBN statistics
log search

useful links

 

| qsl info | Email | guestbook | home |  

                 D4 Cape Verde Holiday- DX- Pedition 2011

              IOTA: AF-086                              WAG Contest

              Santa Maria, Sal Island

Hello friends of HAM Radio,
again, my XYL and I got the travel bug and I was QRV from Cape Verde during WAG contest from 11th to 18th Oct 2011. There is the island of Sal with beautiful sandy beaches and a beautiful fishing village, Santa Maria. I remembered my QSO with Antonio Xara D44TD who lives there and who provided accommodation for a German team at the Hotel Sobrado in 2009. I dropped an email to Xara and he promised his support immediately. Unfortunately the Hotel Sobrado was unavailable and so he recommended to us the Hotel Oasis Belorizonte with bungalows directly at the Atlantic Ocean. Specifically he recommended to me the bungalow 251, in the front row at the beach with a free view to Europe. I can only confirm that this Hotel is HAM Radio friendly and the people assisted me in building and dismantling the antennas. I recommend this Hotel to all of you who would like to operate from Sal island.The level of comfort corresponded to our expectations as well. Xara was very very helpful in obtaining a temporary license. You must know that there is no CEPT scheme applied for amateur radio by the national authority ANAC. They deal with HAM Radio licence applications along the way. Although with the help of colleagues I had submitted my licence application in Portuguese and Xara approached the President of the ANAC several times and I sent my documents to the authority countless, it took more than 4 months until I got my callsign D44TZN assigned. My thanks to Xara, ANAC, DL3KBQ and I4UFH!

QSL - card 

After the formalities were completed, we flew from the autumnal Cologne to Sal where we enjoyed air temperatures of 30°C and water temperature of 24°C. The QSL card above gives an impression of the beach life. This summer environment is an important prerequisite for my XYL to pursue her hobbies. Unfortunately, it was not granted to meet Xara D44TD personally, as he was in Portugal at this time. Maybe it will work out the next time!

Diouf fixes the feeder cable 



Thanks God I had downloaded an application on my iPhone in Cologne, which allowed me to make me understand in Portuguese. So, I could explain that I needed a ladder to climb the nearby Palm to fix my doublet antenna. Immediately the hotel mechanic Diouf was assigned to me. Diouf helped me with his knowledge and his toolbox to span the 2 x 20 m doublet between the Palm tree and a street lamp. The twin-lead feeder was a 300 OHM ribbon cables from DX-WIRE, See above how Diouf fixed the cable. This feeder is ideal to pull it through a window or a door! Unfortunately, there were no high fixing points in the local area, so that the doublet hung too low and the antenna characteristics was quite bad for DX. But for that Diouf was not to be able to help it!

Triple Leg  low hanging doublet

Top left you see the triple leg antenna by DK7ZB. I used a telescopic 12 m fiber-glass pole with a clamp set and a radial connection plate from Spider Beam. The 300 OHM twin-lead feeder was connected via a special RF choke using RG 302 cable from DX-WIRE to the SG-239 Smartuner. The matchbox was connected via a RF choke using RG 58 cable to the FT-897 transceiver with 100 W output. This configuration worked quite good and I received consistently good reports from DX and from critical friends. Thanks to Herbert DF7DJ and Uli DJ9IE! The doublet was used for 80 m mostly whilst the triple leg was used for all other bands. In future I would save this antenna due to missing high fixing points.

Endlich Contest
 



The radio operation was a real pleasure and allows each HAM heart beat faster. D4 was very demanded particularly in CW on the WARC bands and I had some pile-ups. Thanks God that my XYL gave to me a KENT paddle at Christmas 2010 and I had improved my CW capabilities a little bit. So I could master the situation. However, there is still some room for improvement. I am grateful for the experience made. During the WAG I made 348 QSOs and I worked 78 multipliers. Once again, the result of 81198 points was sufficient enough to become the "continental winner of Africa" in my category. At the last day a hurricane bent my pole strongly and consequently the wire broke. The right time to dismantle the station and to say good bye! Ultimately, 1040 QSOs were in the log! Thank you to all of you who worked me and a big thank you to my XYL who actively supported me! Where do we go next?


no connection - no DX and my XYL had some fun too ;-)





 
   

   © 2011 by DL1DAW •  dl1daw@darc.de

DARC

 

Anfang
über mich
die Funkstation
die Antennen
qth / Standort
Video Monitor
Contestergebnisse
3V8CB Urlaub
W6 Urlaub
CT3 Urlaub
EA8 Urlaub
CN2AW Urlaub
D44TZN Urlaub
Hallig Hooge EU-042
A47RS Oman
IOTA St.Mary's EU-011
OV Bergkamen
Fotoalbum
(nur in englisch)

RBN Statistik
Logbuchsuche

nützliche Links
(nur in englisch)

 

| qsl info | Email | Gästebuch | Anfang |  

                 D4 Kap Verden Urlaubs- DX- Pedition 2011

              IOTA: AF-086                              WAG Contest

              Santa Maria, Insel Sal

Hallo liebe Funkfreunde,

wieder hat es mich zum WAG gepackt und vom 11. bis zum 18. Okt 2011 war ich mit meiner XYL von den Kap Verden QRV. Hier gibt es die Insel Sal mit traumhaften Sandstränden und einem schönen Fischerdorf, Santa Maria. Ich erinnerte mich an mein QSO mit Antonio Xara D44TD der dort lebt und im Jahr 2009 einem deutschen Team Unterkunft im Hotel Sobrado verschaffte.Ich schrieb Xara an und sofort versprach er, mich zu unterstützen. Leider war das Hotel Sobrado nicht verfügbar und so vermittelte er uns an das Hotel Oasis Belorizonte mit Ferienbungalows direkt an der Atlantikküste. Er empfahl mir den Bungalow 251, der in der ersten Reihe stand, direkt am Strand mit freier Sicht nach Europa. Ich kann nur bestätigen, dass dieses Hotel mich beim Auf-und Abbau der Antennen aktiv und freundlich unterstützte und ich es an dieser Stelle gerne weiter empfehle. Auch die anderen hotelüblichen Leistungen entsprachen unseren Ansprüchen. Xara war mir auch bei der Beschaffung einer temporären Lizenz sehr, sehr behilflich. Nun muß man wissen, das es dort keine CEPT Regelung gibt und der Amateurfunk von der nationalen Genehmigungsbehörde ANAC nur "nebenbei" bearbeitet wird. Obwohl ich meinen Lizenzantrag mit Hilfe eines Arbeitskollegen in portugiesisch verfasst hatte, Xara mehrmals den damaligen Präsidenten der ANAC ansprach und ich unzählige male die selben Dokumente an die Behörde geschickt hatte, dauerte es über 4 Monate bis ich mein Rufzeichen D44TZN zugeteilt bekam. Mein Dank gilt hier an Xara, ANAC, DL3KBQ und I4UFH!

QSL - Karte 

Nachdem die Formalitäten erledigt waren, flogen wir vom herbstlichen Köln nach Sal mit Lufttemperaturen über 30°C und Wassertemperaturen um die 24°C. Siehe auch obige QSL Karte, die einen Eindruck vom Strandleben gibt. Diese sommerliche Umgebung ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung, damit meine XYL auch ihren Hobbies nachgehen kann. Leider war es mir nicht vergönnt Xara D44TD persönlich vor Ort zu treffen, da er in dieser Zeit in Portugal war. Vielleicht klappt es beim nächsten Mal!

Diouf befestigt das Speisekabel 



Gott sei Dank hatte ich mir in Köln noch eine Applikation auf mein iPhone heruntergeladen, die es mir ermöglichte, mich in portugiesisch verständlich zu machen. So konnte ich dem freundlichen Hotelpersonal erklären, dass ich eine Leiter benötigte, um in die nahe gelegene Palme zu klettern, um darin meinen Doppelzepp zu befestigen. Sofort wurde mir der Hotelmechaniker Diouf zugeteilt, der mir mit seiner Ortskenntnis und seinem Werkzeug half, den 2 x 20m Doppelzepp zwischen der Palme und einer Straßenlaterne aufzuspannen. Als Speiseleitung kam eine 300 Ohm Flachbandleitung von DX-WIRE zum Einsatz, die Diouf hier am Bungalow befestigt. Diese Speiseleitung ist ideal mal eben durch ein Fenster oder eine Tür zu verlegen! Leider gibt es in der dortigen Umgebung keine hohen Abspannpunke, so dass der Doppelzepp zu niedrig hing und die Antennencharakteristik entsprechend schlecht für DX war. Aber dafür konnte Diouf nichts!

Triple Leg  tiefhängende Doppelzepp


Hier seht ihr links oben die Triple Leg nach DK7ZB. Als Schiebemast kam ein 12m Fiberglasmast mit Schellensatz und Radialplatte von Spider Beam zum Einsatz. Die 300 Ohm Speiseleitung wurde im Bungalow über einen Hühnerleiterbalun oder Mantelwellensperre RG 302 von DX-WIRE an den SG-239 Smartuner angeschlossen. Nach der Anpassung ging es über eine Koaxdrossel zum FT-897, der dort seine 100 W Leistung abgab. Diese Konfiguration funktionierte problemlos und es wurden mir durchweg gute DX Rapporte, auch von kritischen Freunden, gegeben. Dank an Herbert DF7DJ und Uli DJ9IE! Die Doppelzepp kam überwiegend nur auf 80m zum Einsatz. Wegen der geringen Aufbauhöhe würde ich diesen Antennenaufbau dort zukünftig einsparen!


Endlich Contest
 

Der Funkbetrieb war die pure Freude und lässt jedes Funkerherz höher schlagen. D4 war besonders in CW auf den WARC Bändern sehr nachgefragt und es kam häufig zu pile-ups. Gott sei Dank hatte mir meine XYL zu Weihnachten 2010 ein KENT Paddle geschenkt und ich meine CW- Fähigkeiten ein wenig gesteigert, so dass ich derSituation einigermassen Herr war. Dennoch gibt es noch einiges an der Betriebstechnik zu verbessern und ich bin dankbar für die gemachten Erfahrungen. Im WAG machte ich 348 QSOs und arbeitete 78 Multis. Das Ergebnis von 81198 Punkte reichte wieder einmal für den "Afrikameister" in meiner Kategorie. Zum Ende unseres Aufenthaltes kam ein Orkan auf, der mir dann die Vertikal so bog, das der Draht riss. Zeit zum Abbauen und auf ein Wiedersehen! Letztlich waren 1040 QSOs im Log! Vielen Dank an alle Stationen, die mich gearbeitet haben und an meine XYL, die mich tatkräftig unterstützte! Wohin gehen wir als nächstes?

keine Verbindung - kein DX und die XYL hatte auch ihren Spaß ;-)





 
   

   © 2011 by DL1DAW •  dl1daw@darc.de